My Wedding Dress

So, I’m not sure how many of you out there are TV addicts, like I am, but even if you aren’t, you’ve probably at least seen a commercial for “Something Borrowed, Something New” on TLC.  (Yea, TLC… The Learning Channel?? Anyway…)  This show is about mothers who want more than anything for their daughters to wear their wedding dress.  Sometimes these ladies make it seem like it would be the end of the world if their daughters didn’t wear this dress, and that they’d be extremely disappointed and sad that their daughters didn’t love them enough to do this important thing for them.  Well, I kind of want to flick all of these mothers in the ear.

What makes these women think that their daughter wouldn’t want her very own wedding dress?  This is her big day.  She is getting married and wants to look her best in a dress that she’s picked out… you know, just like her mother did?!  Why do these women guilt their daughters into wearing their dress?  I mean, isn’t it kind of gross, if you think about it?  Their mothers picked this dress out to look beautiful for their fathers.  This means this dress was what they were wearing when they went into their honeymoon room to DO IT for the first time as a married couple… your parents!!  This is not a share-able item in my opinion.  Lend her some earrings, a necklace, or a hair clip.  Don’t make her wear something that 1) has been out of style for 20+ years and 2) was used to look sexy for her dad.  Gross ladies, gross.

This is how my brain works.  I don’t intend to force my daughter to wear anything I’ve owned.  She is going to be her own person, with her own style, and her own ability to make decisions.  I want her to go about life in a way that makes her a happy person.  I don’t want her to ever feel guilt over something as silly as my wedding dress.  I want her to know that I love her, whoever she turns out to be.  Even if that means wearing a purple wedding dress with a fur collar. (What? I don’t know what the style will be in 20+ years!) I want her to be happy and healthy and loved.

…and if she does end up wanting to wear my dress?  I’ll tell her she’s crazy, because I will love her enough to tell her things like that. 🙂

2 thoughts on “My Wedding Dress

  1. My mom was not a happy camper at the beginning of wedding planning. I didn’t want (nor did I wear!) a “wedding” dress. I wore a sundress. It’s beautiful and I was comfortable the whole night! Now, Baby Girl can wear whatever her heart desires: sundress, ballgown…doesn’t matter to me. So long as she’s happy, I’m happy! (Mom came around when the dress was delivered…she wasn’t unhappy about the dress itself but was unhappy about missing out on the experience of dress shopping)

Leave some love...

