First Time On The Pump

Well, I decided to try the pump today.  Since my mother in-law is still in town, I wanted to try it out while I had a little help.  The verdict?  Well…

I pumped for 15 minutes per breast and got a total of .5oz.  Eep.  I was quiet concerned.  I told my husband that pumping might not be for me.  I actually ended up being able to express more by hand into the bottle.  I mean, not more, but more per minute.  I poured my pitiful little bit of milk into a bag and put it in the freezer.  Luckily, my husband remembered the pediatrician telling us that I may not get a lot out of the pump the first few times I use it.  I don’t remember this, but I will blame sleep deprivation.

I was expecting some pain/discomfort from the pump, but luckily I had none.

I will continue to eat lots and drink lots of water and hopefully my boobs will be able to produce enough milk to fill a couple bottles so that my husband can feed her every now and then in the evenings.  (Especially once I am okayed to take baths again.  Woo!)  Also, the grandparents want to be able to take care of her for a few hours at a time so that my husband and I can go out together.

So, I guess I will try pumping after each feeding, but that makes me worry that my boobs might feel the need to explode while I’m sleeping.  I can’t get any less sleep and still be functional.  Maybe I’ll just try to pump twice during the day.  That shouldn’t make too big of a difference?  We shall see!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “First Time On The Pump

  1. Pumping afer every feeding can cause over supply, which is bad news. Thats what happened to me. 6 blocked ducts and countless milk blisters later I stopped that. Teh best time is after first morning feeding and right before bed. Your prolactin levels are the highest and you will produce more. The amount you get from the pump is NOT indicative of your supply. Some peopl edo not respond to the pump at all. Usually 1-3 ounces TOTAL is a good pumping session. Make sure you pump for 10 minutes after the last drops come out to trick your boobs into making more for those sessions so you can build up a stash. I tried to keep about 100-150oz on hand for in case I went out.

  2. Don’t stress out about how much you get when pumping – it really isn’t any indication of how your supply is. Plus, it’s so unromantic, amiright? Milk levels are lowest in the evening, so if you’re going to pump, it’s best to try in the morning. Just know that sometimes you’ll get a half an ounce, sometimes you’ll get 3, and it’s really OK either way 🙂 YAY BOOBIES!

      • bwahahahah… gee, I can’t imagine why not 🙂 I went for about 4.5 months without pumping, and have only in the past week started to pump once in the afternoon, just to get a bit for A’s evening oatmeal. It’s not a date that I relish, LOL.

      • Eek! I just realized that I phrased that quite oddly. Let me clarify… I pumped for the first month and a half or so, b/c I was paranoid about A getting enough to eat. Then I realized we were doing just fine and stopped pumping. She’s now 6.5 months old, and we started solids/oatmeal about a week and a half ago, along with hunks of avocado, sweet potato, peach, banana, etc. (Not all at the same time, obviously. That would be pretty intense!)

      • Aw man! haha Okay, well I was thinking six months was the norm anyway, so I’m not too disappointed. 😉
        Do you puree everything or are you letting your little one learn to eat with chunks of food?

      • Except for the oatmeal, we’re doing finger foods! It was partially an economic decision (buying a sweet potato is cheaper than jars of pureed sweet potato), partially an ‘i want to know what my baby is eating’ decision (though she’s already tried a steak fry, so I apparently hold that pretty loosely), and mostly a ‘this method seems like it would work for us’ decision. One of the articles I read about baby-led weaning was really chill and said that sometimes babies want to feed themselves and sometimes they want to be fed, so a combo platter of the chunks of food and feeding her the oatmeal has worked well so far!

      • I just recently read about baby-led feeding. I had no idea it was even a thing. The best part about it (I thought) was that you don’t need to puree everything. They suggest that giving your baby actual chucks of food helps them learn to chew (even if they don’t have a lot of teeth). Instead of giving them pureed goo for a few months and then expecting them to be able to understand why their banana is suddenly solid instead of mush. Who knows what else Pinterest will teach me by the time she’s ready to eat though… 😉

      • Exactly! And even with the oatmeal, A is allllll about grasping the spoon herself and pulling it in to eat. BLW seems really practical so far, and I like that it allows her to experience different textures (including the smoothness of oatmeal, which is smooth even for adults, as opposed to bananas, like you said) and that she controls how much she wants or doesn’t want. Is it messy? Oh heck yes. Last night she had sweet-potato encrusted legs and oatmeal-gelled hair. Good thing she’s started liking baths! 🙂

Leave some love...

