Throwing In The Towel

Let me preface this post by saying that I do not want people to tell me to keep trying, so if that is your first thought, just keep it to yourself, please!

Okay, so I’m throwing in the towel on pumping.  I have tried everything and cannot get it to work for me.  Well, I can get about .5 oz TOTAL after pumping for 20 minutes each on each breast (Yea, cause I have 40 extra minutes to do that).  If a baby needs 3oz for a bottle (to start), then I would have to pump SIX times just to fill one bottle (and 3 oz may not be enough (per the lactation consultant)).  I have tried lots more water, food, lactation consultants, bigger flanges (per the LC), relaxing, sitting, standing, staring at my baby, pumping in the morning, pumping in the afternoon, pumping at night… nothing works for me.  This is a possibility (from what I’ve read on some breastfeeding threads) so no one tell me that I just need to try this or that.  It’s over.  I’ve given up!

So, since I am no longer going to try and pump, I have a question for those of you out there who may have the same problem, or who just didn’t want the hassle of trying to pump.  If you supplement (meaning, you let your husband or family member feed the baby every now and then so you can do things) with formula.  How often do you do it?  Does your baby seem to like/dislike the formula more than breast milk?  What kind of formula do you use?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!  Not sure I’m going to supplement with formula yet, but I imagine that sometime in the next five months (before solids) I’m going to want a bit of a break to take a bath, tweeze my eyebrows, or bake a cake.  (mmm.. cake)

9 thoughts on “Throwing In The Towel

  1. Ithink its good to allow yourself to say no more to something if its not working for you. and, the great thing about giving up pumping(as opposed to giving up breastfeeding) is that the pump will always be there and you could try again in a few months if you wanted to.
    I have not noticed a difference in her with formula. one day she had it twice! everything was fine, she drank it right down. she likes bottles just fine. I used similac sensitive. doing formula really does give you some freedom and take you off the clock for one feeding. usually your boobs wont explode with one missed feeding. a friend of mine has a 3 month old who has only had a bottle once (of expressed milk) and yesterday a family member gave him a bottle (expressed milk) and he cried bc he didn’t want a bottle and it took awhile before he would take it. so it can be good to get some bottle exposure! there is a bright side to everything. I used to hate pumping but now that it’s working out better I find it ok. like a milk hoarding challenge but I never had problems with getting next to nothing like you. so sorry!

  2. I feel your pain. It’s a whirlwind, with no right or wrong. I’ve just got into the swing of pumping after 8 weeks only for my baby to totally refuse the bottle. Last week I had to pour away five bottles of expressed milk as she just would not take it at all! It was like getting rid of liquid gold. I had hoped to start her with formula but that’s going to have to wait. I now think I should have tried her on the bottle sooner! Good luck 🙂

  3. For her first month, we gave A one bottle a night of formula (mostly b/c I was freaking out), and I would pump while J fed her the previous bottle of pumped milk. Exhausting, for sure! Then I realized she was getting plenty, I stopped freaking out, stopped pumping, and went just to on-demand feeding. Haven’t done formula since. While I was pumping, A did fine with transitioning between bottle and breast; last week, when we had to be at church early and so I pumped a bit for a ‘snack,’ she wanted nothing to do with the bottle. Granted, it’s been 5 or so months or so since she’s had one, LOL. I agree that pumping is tedious, can be completely discouraging, and often has a ridiculously low product-to-effort ratio. Blargh! If it helps, A gets *plenty* of milk when I feed (hello 20 lbs at 6 months!) but when I pump now (to mix with oatmeal), I consider it a win if I get barely 2 oz. Babies are just much more efficient than any pump will ever be. When we did use formula, we used Similac Advance, and it worked fine. Something to be aware of – the ‘sensitive’ one has corn syrup solids and sugar as its first two ingredients.
    Lastly (I know, I’m droning on), I would just encourage you that you will once again have time to bake a cake, I promise! 🙂 I”m going to post on it at some point, but the first three months really are the ‘fourth trimester.’ There is so much adjustment going on for both parties, that it’s really hard to have any sort of established ‘normal.’ My best advice is to just be OK with that, and to be in tune with your baby as much as you can be. She’ll set a schedule soon enough, and in a few months (even before solids), you’ll be able to go several hours between feedings, she’ll sleep six-eight hours at a stretch, and you will begin to feel like yourself again. I promise! But I know that seems far off at this juncture, so I’m here to keeping reminding you 🙂

  4. I just want to say what nice commenters you have here, I must admit I was expecting you to get slammed because that is what we like to do here in the annonmous blog world, right? Yea not here!

    I would also like to agree good for you for deciding that your sanity is more important…your right 😉

    • I am lucky to have never had any negativity in my comments! I hope I never do!

      And thank you for thinking I am doing the right thing. I am certain that there are others out there who disagree with me, but to each their own, right?? 🙂

Leave some love...

