I’ve Been Doing A LOT Of Not Sleeping

We have been busy… not sleeping.  We’ve been not sleeping a lot lately!  It’s really exhausting to be doing all of this not sleeping everyday!  Whew…

Due to our not sleeping, my baby girl has been very moody, and totally not interested in anything besides eating and taking lots of quicky naps.  I set her on the carpet in her play room today, and instead of immediately rolling onto her side to grab her giraffe toy, she laid on her back, didn’t move a muscle, and stared at me for 20 minutes.  No amount of prodding would convince her to play.  So I brought her into the living room, sat in my chair, and tried nursing her.  She kept drifting off, but not taking a great nap.  She won’t sleep in my lap anymore…. she wants to sleep laying down in the bed with me.  I understand, I like being upstairs better too.  I don’t mind being up there all day, but I do get quite hungry!  I need to invest in a mini fridge or some granola bars or something….

…or maybe my baby girl needs to sleep at night?  Hmm…

Tomorrow I have a play date starting at 11:30.  I’m nervous.  This is the first time in a week we’ve had plans that last a few hours.  We’ve been going up for a nap around 12:30 or 1:00 and she has been nursing for 20 minutes and napping for 2-3 hours.  What will happen tomorrow without her nap??  I mean, our nighttime sleep is pretty terrible already.  Waking up every hour and all.  I guess I will just continue to co-sleep with her in the guest bedroom until she starts sleeping longer again.  I think I’m ready for her to sleep in her crib, but there is no chance I’m getting up and running in there every hour!  Not to mention she won’t nurse in her glider, so I have to bring her into another room to nurse her….. because she won’t fall asleep without nursing!  Oh my gosh… there are so many problems with our sleeping!   Oh well… I will just say that I am SO glad that I am not having to go to work on top of this insane sleep “schedule.”  To all you mothers out there who do have to do that…. I wish I could give you all a hug and a Starbucks gift card, but since I cannot, just remember that it’s the thought that counts….

9 thoughts on “I’ve Been Doing A LOT Of Not Sleeping

  1. Oh *hugs* it’s so hard to miss sleep (thank goodness babies are cute and lovable – they make up for it!!) 😉
    Remind me, how old is she?
    Have you ever been to the Baby Whisperer boards? http://www.babywhispererforums.com/index.php They are full of great info and suggestions! There are tons of sleep boards, with different focuses (naps, night-waking, etc)
    I hope your play date goes well tomorrow. 🙂

    • She will be 17 weeks tomorrow (four months Saturday).
      I will definitely check that out tomorrow! I tried on my phone but forums are way too tiny! Haha
      She certainly does make up for it in cuteness! I can’t believe how much I love something that keeps me from sleeping! Haha

      • Yeah, I figured with the waking every hour thing that she must be about 4-5 months. Sam did that too. 😉 It usually went along with growth spurts, but not always.
        The FAQ’s on the Baby Whisperer site were especially helpful to me. 😀

  2. I feel your pain with the no sleep thing. One day they either will sleep all night or they will go off to college, and sleep will be a glorious thing again. This may sound weird but have you had her iron checked? Rhiannon went from up every 45 minutes to every 2 hours once we realized her iron was off and got her on stuff for that. Teething always effects naps here, so it could be that also. Sorry I am no help, and they don’t make baby ambien yet(I checked) 😉

      • Right, someone need to make that!
        They said her vitamin levels especially her iron could make it uncomfortable for her and make her need to wake more frequently to replenish the vitamins her body is lacking. Still not sleeping all night but better.

  3. I am SO sorry you aren’t getting sleep. I am in the same boat and I feel like a certified lunatic. I have considered moving her to the bed with me but I fear not being able to transition her back to the crib. God it’s always something isn’t it!

  4. ugh. no sleep is a terrible thing. On the nights that i’m up every few hours with Daxton, I just want to cry because I know that there is no pause button and i can’t sneak in extra time for napping or sleeping. It’s just so hard to manage. I hope that you can find a schedule soon (as much as a baby is on a schedule!). And yes – keep some bars close by – when I was home on maternity leave i bought a giant box of granola bars at costco and kept them stashed all over the house because i could never cook anything or be away for more than a few minutes and was always starving!

Leave some love...

